Monthly Archives: September 2013

League standings after round six (Swindon Road Race)


With just one round to go in the 2013 Cotswold Cycle Racing League it’s all change at the top of the leader board. Both Rory Gilling (Performance Cycles) and Joe Barry (Ride 24/7) have now completed their required five counting events, and have pushed previous league leader (since round two) Michael Ward down into second place.

The final round takes place this coming Sunday (15th) in Cricklade – and it should make for a fantastic end to the first year of the re-launched Cotswold League, and hopefully it can only get better as we invite more clubs to take part in future years.

Full league standings below – click the image to open in in a larger format….

Dan Marks (Bristol RC) wins the Swindon RC Cotswold Road Race

The Swindon Road Club Cotswold Road Race had a full field of 60 riders from an original entry of over 140.  The 2/3/4 category race also incorporated a round of the Cotswold Cycle Racing League  (this was the 6th of 7 rounds).

The race left Brinkworth House in cool and overcast conditions with a slight drizzle falling.  Thankfully the drizzle fizzled and the roads dried out making for generally good racing conditions.  The peloton stayed together until the second time up Callow Hill when the race split and a group of seven riders gained a gap of around 40 seconds, a second group of about nine riders followed, then the remains of the peloton some 30 seconds further behind.

By the final lap the 2 front groups had merged and at the bell they had a 60 second advantage over the chasing peloton.  Over the final lap the peloton reeled in the large front group and a single peloton approached Callow Hill for the final time and a leg-busting sprint up this short but testing climb.

Dan Marks emerged from the group and gained about a three bike length advantage by the time he crossed the finish line.  Tim Turrini-Rochford and Michael Serafin contested a sprint for 2nd place with Tim narrowly clinching it.  Lee Davis was clear in 4th position with the remaining riders crossing the line in a steady stream.


Finishing Position First Name Surname Club Race Number time gap


1 Daniel Marks Bristol RC 23
2 Tim Turrini-Rochford Bristol RC 24 1
3 Michael Serafin GVC Edmond De Rothschild 36
4 Lee Davis Node4 – Giordana Racing 42 2
5 Jozef Metelka Beeline R T 32 3
6 Joe Barry Ride 24/7 5 4
7 Luke Dunbar Team Greenover 25
8 Rory Gilling Performance Cycles 13
9 Richard Harris Cwmcarn Paragon Cycle Club 28
10 Michael Ward Ride 24/7 1
11 Rupert Beale Beeline R T 45
12 Nicholas Tilling Ride 24/7 6
13 Jonathan Marchins Beeline R T 41 6
14 Rowan Marshall RT 58
15 Nick Beale Beeline R T 48
16 Justin Belcher Banbury Star CC 22
17 Wayne Coombs Winchcombe CC 2
18 Tom Marshall Velo Club Montpellier 18
19 Bevan Humphreys RT 57
20 Daniel Guest Army Cycling Union 21
21 Lee Finch Gloucester City CC 12 11
22 Simon Barnes Procycling Magazine RT 43
23 Malcolm Dixon Severn RC 49
24 Rupert Denny Dream Cycling 33 14
25 Iain Bullar Gannet CC 35
26 Gethin Llewelyn West Wales Cycle Racing Team 60
27 Joseph Henstridge Salisbury Road and Mountain CC 47
28 Mitch Evans Ride 24/7 4
29 John Russell Strada Cycles 50
30 Aaron Collins Swindon RC 15 18
31 Gerry Bowditch NFTO 40
32 Matthew Ullmer Dynamic Bicycles UK/RPC 34
33 David Billings Motivo RT 39 20
34 Stuart Gourley Radeon Cycle Coaching 44 23
35 Mike Cripps Banjo Cycles 27 27
36 Peter Medhurst University of Exeter Cycling Club 55 30
37 Matt Callaghan Gloucester City CC 8
38 Steve Dring Team Echelon – Rotor 52
39 Oliver Broadway Cheltenham & County CC 7 37
40 Rob Yeatman Dream Cycling 31
41 Peter Giddings Velo Club Walcot 59
42 Paul Dring Team Echelon – Rotor 53 44
43 Daniel Dolan Army Cycling Union 20
44 Oscar Hutchings University of Exeter Cycling Club 54 49
45 Ian Humble Gloucester City CC 9
46 Richard Cleaver Leisure Lakes 38
DNF Alex McIntosh Swindon RC 17
DNF Matthew Cooper Swindon RC 16
DNF Matthew Osborn GVC Edmond De Rothschild 37
DNF Thomas Leach Gloucester City CC 11
DNS Gary Smith Ride 24/7 DNS
DNS Tom Ilett Bristol South CC DNS
DNS John Peters CC Luton DNS
DNS Benjamin Brown Cycling Club Hackney DNS
DNS John Wilkinson Dream Cycling DNS
DNS Deacon Cutterham CGC NFTO DNS
DNS Stuart Williams Reading CC DNS
DNS Liam Walsh Salisbury Road and Mountain CC DNS
Shaun Rhodes Velo Club Montpellier 19
Garry Jones Gloucester City CC 10
Mark Munns Ride 24/7 3
Timothy Poole Performance Cycles 14
Steven Cottington Cadence RT 26
Jon Harris Cycle Club Basingstoke 29
Daniel Marshall Team Diabetis UK 30
Sam Shannon Rutrainingtoday CC 46
Matthew Franklin Team Diabetes UK 51
Justin Harcourt RT 56